Our Team

Joe Lovett

304.645.9006

jlovett@appalmad.org Joe Lovett, a founder of Appalachian Mountain Advocates, has been a catalyst for focusing local and national attention on the devastation caused by mountaintop removal coal…

Derek Teaney

304.793.9007

dteaney@appalmad.org Derek Teaney is a ninth generation West Virginian. Derek graduated at the head of his class from Lewis and Clark Law School in 2004, where he was…

Kate Asquith

434.933.2833

kasquith@appalmad.org Kate Asquith joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates as the Director of Programs and Strategic Outreach in August 2015. Kate graduated from the University of Washington School of Law…

Mike Becher

304.382.4798

mbecher@appalmad.org Mike Becher joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates in August of 2010 as an Equal Justice Works Fellow, sponsored by the Philip M. Stern Family Foundation. Prior to law…

Isak Howell

540.998.7744

ihowell@appalmad.org Isak Howell joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates in August of 2010. He graduated from the University of Virginia School of Law in 2007 and clerked for one year…

Ben Luckett

304.645.0125

bluckett@appalmad.org Ben Luckett joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates in September of 2010. Ben graduated in 2010 from Lewis and Clark Law School, where he served as a student director…

Evan Johns

434.738.1863

ejohns@appalmad.org Evan Johns, a native West Virginian, joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates as a staff attorney in August of 2015. Evan graduated from the West Virginia University College of…

Ryan Talbott

503.329.9162

rtalbott@appalmad.org Ryan Talbott is a native Pennsylvanian and has worked on conservation issues in his home state for over fifteen years. Prior to joining Appalachian Mountain Advocates, Ryan served…

Elizabeth Sutton

304.645.9006

esutton@appalmad.org Elizabeth Sutton began working with Appalachian Mountain Advocates in January 2011. She earned Bachelors degrees in Secondary English Education and Psychology from the University of Kentucky. She lives on…

Susan Waldie

304.645.9008

Susan Waldie joined Appalachian Mountain Advocates in 2016. She graduated from Marshall University summa cum laude with a bachelor’s in economics in 2011. In 2016, she graduated from West…